The Alternative Dam

I am finally back on the road once more, first stop before my flight is Amsterdam. There is a lot more to see than just the drugs and sex, neither of which I plan to partake in whilst here!

I will update more fully at a later date as there is someone waiting for the computer right now, but my highlight so far as been eating horse meat. It was pretty disgusting. Fried in a ball covered in breadcrumbs, in Dutch called ‘bitterballen’,  it looked quite appetising from the outside – inside however was another story. Rather than solid, the centre was practically liquid with bits of strange tasting meat floating around in a cloudy brown substance. I am glad I have tried it, but I can’t say I will again!

In typical Mullett family tradition, the Royal Palace, which is described as, “Amsterdam’s most prestigious architectural monument,” is spectacularly and entirely covered in green tarpaulin and scaffolding and closed until further notice.

I have also noted that the Dutch are very, very tall.

4 responses to “The Alternative Dam

  1. You should go to the Rijksmuseum if you haven’t already, and oogle The Night Watch painting. 🙂

    • tinastravellingtales

      Hey Rny! The day I read your comment we had just come back from the Rijksmuseum and The Nightwatch! You are clearly psychic, or you know me very well and know what I would be interested in! Thanks for the e-mail, I have a free day today and will hopefully be able to read it finally – the job is still a mystery so most excited 😛 Hope all is well back in London!

  2. Oh my, how can you not like bitterballen? They’re delicious, the snack-sized variant from ‘kroketten’ or croquettes. But perhaps you’ll have to grown up with them to like them, or you just had the wrong ‘brand’, as they aren’t all ‘practically fluid’ from the inside.

    However, I hope you still enjoy your time in our capital. And some day, the Royal Palace will be visible again, fully restored even. May I just note that recently the picturesque Central Station has been uncovered from it’s scaffolding and covering? Hopefully we’ll be able to use the main entrance again (in a few years) as the building site for the new metro line will be gone too. 🙂

    • tinastravellingtales

      I am sure there are good ones, there is a Dutch girl in my tour group in Central America right now and she defends bitterballen to the ground too!

Leave a Reply

